The Spirited School Counselor

Are YOU on the Bus?

Leave a comment

Disclosure of material connection: Some of the links in the post below are “affiliated links.” This means if you click on the link and purchase the item I will receive a small commission. With that said, I only recommend items that I have found useful as a school counselor and educator. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

Recently I finished reading The Energy Bus: 10 Rules to Fuel Your Life, Work, and Team with Positive Energy by Jon Gordon.  A friend of mine recommended it when I asked for some suggestions for the summer. I am so glad I listened to her.

Although this book is not education or counseling focused I found myself coming up with lesson ideas as I read. The book’s story line focuses on a business man struggling in all aspects of his life… until he steps on the bus. The main character puts the rules into practice at work, while working on launching a new product with his team. As he puts the 10 rules into practice his, life, attitude, and outlook transformed in about 2 weeks.

The rules consist of making changes in your overall attitude, as well as your approach. The list of rules may not be that meaningful outside of the book, but it really is worth the read to discover the great meanings behind the rules. I found all of the rules great but rules 8-10 were pretty powerful.

8. Love Your Passengers. As a teacher I admit that there were a few children who had the ability to bounce of my nerve. This rule reminds the reader how important it is to love ALL of your passengers. As a school counselor I will have many passengers – students, parents, staff, administration, and community resources. That’s a lot of love to spread around but it seems like if you really take to heart rules 1-7 then loving all your passengers is possible.

9. Drive with Purpose. Having a purpose for what you are doing is important. I am the type of person who likes marking things off to-do lists and reaching goals. These goals give me a purpose. Another resource we have as school counselors is the ASCA national model. ASCA has provided us with four areas (foundation, delivery, management, and accountability) that can give your counseling program a purpose.

10. Have Fun and ENJOY the Ride. As educators, we run the risk of burnout. One of the ways to avoid burnout is to make sure you are taking care of yourself. Self-care is crucial. My first year of teaching I found myself packing up all of my students problems and taking them all home with me each night. As you can imagine it quickly wore me down and I stopped enjoying the ride. How I could not have fun in a preschool classroom filled with imagination, finger paint, and legos is hard to imagine, but it happened. Much of this was due to not taking care of myself. This is a must for me to have fun and enjoy the ride.

I don’t want to write too much because I want you to read the book; however, I will say that I hope to take Gordon’s approach in my personal life, graduate work, and with each student I work with. I believe it will MAKE A DIFFERENCE.

I found the rules inspiring, the writing captivating, and the book an overall great read. I would recommend everyone to get on the bus! 

Have you read a Jon Gordon book before? Have any other book recommendations for me and other readers?

Thanks for stopping by!

-Elizabeth 


          

Author: thespiritedschoolcounselor

Hey there! I started blogging about my experiences through graduate school and now have continued as a working school counselor. I am currently working in an elementary school but try hard to keep up-to-date on all things school counselor, as well as topics in education. I hope to share ideas, document what I am doing, network, be inspired, inspire, and collaborate with others through this blog. My professional portfolio can be found here: http://elizabethcranford.weebly.com/ Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Comment

