The Spirited School Counselor

What’s in a Name?

Leave a comment

made @ keepcalm-o-matic

I wanted to take a moment to explain my blog name, which took me some time to decide on. I landed on The Spirited School Counselor after several attempts, but once I thought of it things just clicked. It felt right. I love when that happens!

The name evolved from the word sassy. I have a sassy side, but I wasn’t crazy about the name The Sassy School Counselor. I was afraid that it would give the wrong first impression… and as we know, first impressions are important.

Using my skills from English class back in the day, I hit up the Thesaurus: Lively. Bold. Cheeky. Full of Spirit all popped up under sassy.

Full of spirit… hmmm… that is something I could work with.

To me it has many meanings. It still embodies the liveliness of my personality, but spirited also brings in other ideas too – school spirit. I have that. I love JMU. I had dorm spirit at Mary Washington (Westmo!!). I loved high school and all the school spirit that filled the halls. Check. That fits.

I also am a Christian, which is a more personal aspect of who I am. I believe deeply in the power of the Holy Spirit.

Lastly, I am spirited in the way of school counseling and education as a whole. I am enthusiastic about the profession, determined to soak in as much as I can while in graduate school, and ready to dive whole-heartily into this profession.

How did you land on the name of your blog?

Thanks for stopping by!

-Elizabeth

Author: thespiritedschoolcounselor

Hey there! I started blogging about my experiences through graduate school and now have continued as a working school counselor. I am currently working in an elementary school but try hard to keep up-to-date on all things school counselor, as well as topics in education. I hope to share ideas, document what I am doing, network, be inspired, inspire, and collaborate with others through this blog. My professional portfolio can be found here: http://elizabethcranford.weebly.com/ Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Comment

