The Spirited School Counselor

Middle School Groups

2 Comments

I am lucky enough to gain experience as a school counseling student through my graduate assistantship and through my internship this year… and who doesn’t like more experience, right? Through my job I work with students who are under-represented with the long term goal of helping those students eventually go and be successful in college. This year I will be working with middle school students (last year I was working in 2 high schools). In addition to my position at the middle school I will be interning at a high school in the fall and another middle school in the spring.

Earlier this week I traveled to the middle school I will be at for my assistantship. During my visit I learned that the person who held my position last year primarily ran groups.  I have never ran a full group by myself. Luckily, I have assisted with groups at the elementary level during my practicum, but outside of that I have little group experience. The good news:  I will gain group experience this year.  Of course the unknown of middle school and groups is a little intimidating. Thankfully, I am pretty sure it wont be quite like the tales in James Patterson’s books (which I have never read but they sound pretty entertaining).

Here are some topics that I am thinking about exploring before school starts:
-study skills

-organizational skills

-college exploration (meaning, types of colleges, dorms, majors, college life)

I will let you know how my groups go once they are underway!

As a school counseling intern, do you have any advice or ideas for middle school groups?

Thanks for stopping by,
-Elizabeth 

Author: thespiritedschoolcounselor

Hey there! I started blogging about my experiences through graduate school and now have continued as a working school counselor. I am currently working in an elementary school but try hard to keep up-to-date on all things school counselor, as well as topics in education. I hope to share ideas, document what I am doing, network, be inspired, inspire, and collaborate with others through this blog. My professional portfolio can be found here: http://elizabethcranford.weebly.com/ Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Middle School Groups

  1. -Grief and loss
    -Social skills
    -Military family support
    -Girls self esteem

Leave a Comment

