The Spirited School Counselor

Back to School-Back to Connecting

3 Comments

ImageI recently came across Franciene Sabens blog post for a linky party. I have never participated in something like this but thought I would join in on the fun. I am new to the school counseling world – half way through my masters. I did 100 practicum hours this spring in an elementary school and am heading into my 600 hour internship (300 – Fall/High school; 300 – Spring/Middle School), so I may not be able to answer every question….

When do you head back to the office? 

I am going in tomorrow to meet with my supervisor! I am excited and nervous at the same time. I officially start on August 26, which will be the high school students’ second week of school.

Share 1 thing you want to accomplish this year.

This year I want to soak in as much as I can. I know that I have so much to learn so I am sure I will be asking a LOT of questions. I hope to participate in as many aspects of life as a high school and middle school counselor. I also hope to continue with professional development, stay active on twitter, and continue to blog about graduate school and my internships.

Top 3 School Counseling tools I can’t live without

I cant fully answer this question yet, but I can guess…

1. My Planner – as a preschool teacher and a student I rely heavily on my planner to keep my schedule straight. In practicum last semester I would also schedule out my day when I arrived at the elementary school (with pencil, of course). I imagine I will do something similar in internship.

2. My computer/technology – I am learning so much through school counselors blogs, pinterest posts, and twitter. Twitter chats have also been so beneficial to me as a new school counselor. As a teacher I also relied heavily on technology. I loved using my smartboard to engage students. Email allowed me to send a quick note to parents letting them know how I caught their child doing well (not a daily thing, but I know it was appreciated).

3. Other professionals – professors, teachers, school counselors, classmates – all of these great people are helping me become a school counselor. Thank YOU for helping me and being a great tool in my developing school counselor tool box.

How do you introduce your program to students at the beginning of the year?

I am actually attending freshman orientation tomorrow night and am hoping to get a peak at how a high school might do this. I imagine that any orientation would be a great way to introduce the program to new students. I also imagine in the future going around to each class (in elementary school), gym class (middle school), or English class (high school) to introduce the program.

What has been your most successful method of sharing information with parents & other stakeholders?

Although I do not have much experience in this realm as a school counselor I do as a preschool teacher. As a teacher my number 1 priority was building relationships. I knew if I could build a relationship then parents would be receptive to the information I have to share. I tried to remember little trips they were taking as a family or remembering to ask if someone was feeling better after getting over a cold. These little things add up. Its like putting change into a bank. Eventually I am able to “cash out” when I ask for volunteers or need to address a concern with a family.

I also maintained a classroom website that included up-to-date information. I imagine doing something similar with my future school counseling program. I am a big fan of writing so I created a newsletter template and then replaced the information every month.

Share 3 tips for delivering school counseling curriculum

1. Again – lacking experience – but I imagine that relationships will again be very important. By building relationships with teachers, staff, and administrators I imagine it will be easier to deliver school counseling curriculum. Relationships with teachers also open up doors to work together on a lesson.

2. Going along with my love of technology, using a website it a great way to display what your school counseling curriculum is and how you are delivering it. This can be done through a blog or a general website. I imagine that I could also display my GRIPS there to show how the program is being helpful to students.

3. When thinking about the delivery in front of students I think an important question to ask is “Is this interesting?” All topics can be presented from an engaging angle. Topics can also presented in a dry or boring way. Make sure that if you were your student you would be engaged in the lesson.

How do you stay organized? 

Pencil & paper is how. I have tried using the calendar on my phone as well as google’s calender, but I am a little old fashioned, I suppose. When I actually write something down it sticks with me so I buy myself a nice planner each year and get my pencils ready to fill it in.

I am also a big fan of the label maker. As a teacher I labeled everything and each “thing” in my room had a home. I created specific files that may only hold a couple of papers instead of lumping them together. This helped me minimize misplacing items. I do this with my computer files, as well. It makes finding that random website or form I only use once a year easier to find.

I loved participating in my first linky party! I hope to join some more in the future.

1LinkyParty

Thanks for stopping by!

-Elizabeth

Author: thespiritedschoolcounselor

Hey there! I started blogging about my experiences through graduate school and now have continued as a working school counselor. I am currently working in an elementary school but try hard to keep up-to-date on all things school counselor, as well as topics in education. I hope to share ideas, document what I am doing, network, be inspired, inspire, and collaborate with others through this blog. My professional portfolio can be found here: http://elizabethcranford.weebly.com/ Thanks for stopping by!

3 thoughts on “Back to School-Back to Connecting

  1. Elizabeth, welcome to the party! I love that you added a fresh, new perspective to the party that we did not have. Hearing from an intern will help us all to better recognize topics to cover with our interns, but it sounds like you’ve got the big one down pat, relationships are everything! Best wishes for an insightful & rewarding internship experience. Thanks again for joining the party.

  2. Thanks Franciene. I hope your year is off to a great start too!

  3. Pingback: Pee Pee Hands » Blog Archive » First day of school activities

Leave a Comment

