The Spirited School Counselor

Making Pinterest Work for You

Leave a comment

PinterestI began the task of organizing my pins on Pinterest today. While doing this I thought it would make a great blog post. Technology is a great tool if used well.

To be honest, I haven’t used pinterest well in my professional life. So I am on a mission to correct that, but you do not need to make the same mistake I did. Just learn from it.

If you do not know what Pinterest is, let me explain and then you need to join right away. Pinterest is a social website where people “pin” items to “boards.” The ideas is your online “boards” are like cork boards which you fill with ideas (aka “pins”). You can “follow” people’s boards. For example, I have a strong interest in school counseling so many of the people and boards I follow are related to that. Pinterest is also hooked into facebook & twitter so that you can follow your friends. You do not need to know someone to follow their board though.

Making Pinterest work for you is easy as long as you are a little organized.

When I started graduate school last summer I just made a “school counseling” board and starting pinning… everything. This is easy to do since there are so many ideas on pinterest for school counselors. The problem: it is difficult to find pins once they are on a board with 200 other pins. Do not make the same mistake I did

Instead, make multiple boards that focus on more specific topics. Some of the boards I created today in hopes of de-cluttering my school counseling board include:

School Counseling Office

School Counseling – Middle School

School Counseling Groups

By creating more specific boards it will make finding that brilliant idea you pinned 2 months ago much easier to find. Once I get my boards re-organized I will be able to find that great picture on ways to Get to Know a Middle Schooler quickly.

I believe either Andrea Burston, from http://jyjoynercounselor.blogspot.com/, or Danielle Schultz, from http://www.schcounselor.com/, said in one of their youtube videos to think of Pinterest as a filing cabinet. This is a perfect way to think of Pinterest.You want to keep it as organized as you would keep your school files. If you don’t you can quickly misplace something or worse, it becomes useless because it is a mess. Pinterest is an awesome resource for school counselors and if used well, it can become your favorite place to brainstorm new ideas.

Thanks for stopping by!
-Elizabeth

Author: thespiritedschoolcounselor

Hey there! I started blogging about my experiences through graduate school and now have continued as a working school counselor. I am currently working in an elementary school but try hard to keep up-to-date on all things school counselor, as well as topics in education. I hope to share ideas, document what I am doing, network, be inspired, inspire, and collaborate with others through this blog. My professional portfolio can be found here: http://elizabethcranford.weebly.com/ Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Comment

