The Spirited School Counselor

Virginia Counselor’s Association Convention Update

Leave a comment

Hello World!

I feel like I am finally feeling like a human again after a very busy semester full of learning, growing, and just enjoying the internship experience. With that said, it didn’t give me as much time as I had hoped to blog about my experiences but that’s what break is for, right?

I have been anxious to write about the sessions I attended at the Virginia Counselor’s Association (VCA)convention this past November at the Homestead. I learned so much and made a few contacts for the future. I am amazed how inspired I feel after each conference I attend.

Here is a list of the sessions I attended that really stood out to me (I will write a blog post for each individually):

Following the first day of sessions there are many welcome receptions to attend. I was lucky enough to pick up some leftover resources from a few sessions I was unable to attend at the receptions. There was so many interesting and informative sessions that I felt torn as to where to go!

The keynote speaker this year was Trevor Romain. If you ever have the opportunity to hear him speak – Go! He is funny, inspiring, and really knows how to pull his audience in and pull on each person’s heart strings. He is the author of several books and dvds. If I knew I would be working in an elementary or middle school next year I would have scooped up a couple of them at the conference. Image

Author: thespiritedschoolcounselor

Hey there! I started blogging about my experiences through graduate school and now have continued as a working school counselor. I am currently working in an elementary school but try hard to keep up-to-date on all things school counselor, as well as topics in education. I hope to share ideas, document what I am doing, network, be inspired, inspire, and collaborate with others through this blog. My professional portfolio can be found here: http://elizabethcranford.weebly.com/ Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Comment

