The Spirited School Counselor

Social Emotional Learning in Schools

1 Comment

SEL in schoolsThis semester my professors were so kind as to add an additional course on their load so that we could take it. This course focuses primarily on social emotional learning (SEL) and mindfulness.

Today we watched this video in class and I was so impressed by each staff member that was shown. The value and importance of social emotional learning is understood in this school and because of it students are more successful. From the video I learned that students who participate in a SEL program generally score 10% higher on academic tests than then students who are not in those programs!
I enjoyed the video so much I wanted to share it with you:

What did you think? Does your school implement social emotional learning into the academic curriculum?
Thanks for stopping by!

-Elizabeth

Author: thespiritedschoolcounselor

Hey there! I started blogging about my experiences through graduate school and now have continued as a working school counselor. I am currently working in an elementary school but try hard to keep up-to-date on all things school counselor, as well as topics in education. I hope to share ideas, document what I am doing, network, be inspired, inspire, and collaborate with others through this blog. My professional portfolio can be found here: http://elizabethcranford.weebly.com/ Thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “Social Emotional Learning in Schools

  1. Pingback: Mindfulness in Schools. Part 3: Curriculum & Resources | The Spirited School Counselor

Leave a Comment

