The Spirited School Counselor

School Climate: It’s Important

Leave a comment

School ClimateOne of my last assignments in graduate school was to pick an area of concern in the field of education. I chose to focus on school climate. This topic is something that I feel is extremely important and there are many reasons why. The primary reason is that it impacts everyone within the school and can have major implications if the school has a negative climate and can create huge gains if it is positive. The good news is that we, as school counselors, can do something about it. School Climate is made up of 4 different areas: safety, relationships, learning, and institutional environment. In my paper I focused on safety & the Olweus Bullying Program; however, there are so many more ways we can focus on school climate. 

 

I thought to post this information after Beth Mertens (@mertensminute & mertensminute.wordpress.com) tweeted out a question looking for examples of school climate surveys. Here are links to examples of (free) school climate surveys:

Teaching Tolerance: http://www.tolerance.org/map-it-out

Ontario Ministry of Education:
 http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng/safeschools/climate.html

Survey Monkey (I am not sure what school made this):
http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/FDNNXY9

 

Take a peak at what I wrote on the topic here (my online portfolio). 

 

Thanks for stopping by!

-Elizabeth

Author: thespiritedschoolcounselor

Hey there! I started blogging about my experiences through graduate school and now have continued as a working school counselor. I am currently working in an elementary school but try hard to keep up-to-date on all things school counselor, as well as topics in education. I hope to share ideas, document what I am doing, network, be inspired, inspire, and collaborate with others through this blog. My professional portfolio can be found here: http://elizabethcranford.weebly.com/ Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Comment

