The Spirited School Counselor

Mindfulness in Schools. Part 2: Research Says…

5 Comments

Mindfull

Disclosure of material connection: Some of the links in the post below are “affiliated links.” This means if you click on the link and purchase the item I will receive a small commission. With that said, I only recommend items that I have found useful as a school counselor and educator. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

While on vacation last week I found this picture on pinterest. I couldn’t find where the image originated from, but I thought it was a great way to show mindfulness. I know I can relate to the person in the drawing, but I would love to experience more of the pup’s clear mind. I am sure we all would.

Last post I explained what mindfulness is and today I am going to share some of the research.

When I did a simple google search for: “Mindfulness in Schools Research”  I received over 1 MILLION results! Why? Because this is a topic that matters and recently, research has been expanding rapidly.

 

Mindfulness can have a positive impact by (reference is in parenthesis/below):mindfulness

  • increasing attention span (1,3, 5)
  • improved academic performance (4)
  • increased social compliance & awareness (1, 4, 5)
  • reducing depression (2, 5)
  • reducing anxiety (2,4, 5)
  • reducing behavioral conflicts (4, 5)
  • improving immune system  (2,4)
  • increasing brain’s capacity to learn (3)
  • increasing self-awareness (3)
  • increasing self control & self regulation (3, 4, 5)
  • increasing level of compassion (4, 5)
  • increased self-esteem (5)

Dan Siegel, M.D., author of The Whole-Brain Child: 12 Revolutionary Strategies to Nurture Your Child’s Developing Mind & Brainstorm: The Power and Purpose of the Teenage Brain,  discusses the science of mindfulness and some research on mindfulness:

One of the statements that stood out to me the most was when he talked about how “mindfulness can change the world, literally, one person, one relationship, at a time” because it can have a positive impact by reducing bullying or violence.
Mindfulness is a low-cost way to help students. It is a tool that can “help change the direction of their development for the rest of their lives.”

My professors told us in class this past spring that by practicing mindfulness even a few minutes a day can have a HUGE impact. I am not sure what source this information is from, but I do recall reading it through my intervention course. Hearing that fact, as well as reading it, helped me realize that mindfulness is something that I can actually practice and fit into my day.

Look for my 3rd post soon, which will focus on mindfulness curriculum and resources.

Thanks for stopping by!
-Elizabeth

 

Resources:

1. http://www.mindfulschools.org/about-mindfulness/research/

2. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6mlk6xD_xAQ

3. http://vimeo.com/47294652

4. http://innerexplorer.org/teaching-mindfulness-benefits/

5. http://www.mindfuleducation.org/

 

Author: thespiritedschoolcounselor

Hey there! I started blogging about my experiences through graduate school and now have continued as a working school counselor. I am currently working in an elementary school but try hard to keep up-to-date on all things school counselor, as well as topics in education. I hope to share ideas, document what I am doing, network, be inspired, inspire, and collaborate with others through this blog. My professional portfolio can be found here: http://elizabethcranford.weebly.com/ Thanks for stopping by!

5 thoughts on “Mindfulness in Schools. Part 2: Research Says…

  1. Pingback: Mindfulness in Schools. Part 3: Curriculum & Resources | The Spirited School Counselor

  2. Pingback: Mindfulness in Action | The Spirited School Counselor

  3. I love the Whole-Brain Child by Dr. Siegel–in fact, I’ve lent it out so many times I’m not even sure which colleague has it now.

  4. Pingback: Sparkle #233: Hey 2017 – Let’s Do This! – Pumpernickel Pixie

Leave a Comment

