The Spirited School Counselor

NBCC vs NBPTS for School Counselors

1 Comment

NBCC vs NBPTS

I recently asked on the Elementary School Counselor Exchange facebook group about the different certifications school counselors may work towards. I thought the National Board Certified Counselor (NBCC) was the only certification available; however, I discovered that the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) also offers a school counseling certificate. In response to my question Dr. Russ Sabella posted a great side by side comparison that ASCA created. You can see the ASCA Comparison Chart here or below on scribd. NBCC has created a list of benefits of holding their certification.

NBCC vs NBPTS

https://www.scribd.com/embeds/316117177/content?start_page=1&view_mode=scroll&show_recommendations=true

From what I understand – please correct me, if I am wrong – NBCC offers an exam for counselors to earn their NBCC credentials. NBPTS is a much more in-depth process that aligns with the ASCA model and helps school counselors prepare for the Recognized ASCA Model Program (RAMP) application. The NBPTS requires 3 years of licensed experience and a portfolio.

Several people noted that it is important to check with your state as well as your school district to see if there are monetary benefits to earning the two certifications.

Another things that was mentioned was that NBCC used to offer a specialized certification for school counselors. Right now that certification application is unavailable and under review.

Have you earned either certification? Any advice for those of us who are considering it?

Thanks for stopping by!

cropped-cropped-cropped-thoughts1.png

Author: thespiritedschoolcounselor

Hey there! I started blogging about my experiences through graduate school and now have continued as a working school counselor. I am currently working in an elementary school but try hard to keep up-to-date on all things school counselor, as well as topics in education. I hope to share ideas, document what I am doing, network, be inspired, inspire, and collaborate with others through this blog. My professional portfolio can be found here: http://elizabethcranford.weebly.com/ Thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “NBCC vs NBPTS for School Counselors

  1. The NBCT collaborated with the NBCC to create the program now offered, from how I understand it. After completing 3000 supervised hours 12 more semester units (above my Master’s Program) and 48 CEU’s as well as a state licence exam and a National Comprehensive Exam, I feel the NBCC program is well worth it. I am trying to receive compensation for the National Credential I earned but not sure if our teachers Union will allow that to happen. So, I intend to get the NBCT credential as well, since it looks to be A Lot less work and money that the NBCC.

Leave a Comment

